SuperHeros to the Rescue!!

Saturday was a great day. Early in the morning Alexis and I made Homemade Lemonade, Sweet Tea, Peach Cobbler, and Bread Pudding. It felt so good to be cooking again and wondering how much to cook would there be any customers to eat them and so on. It made my mind reel to be “Back in Business” even if it was for a Cheer Fundraiser. It took us from 9am to 1pm to get set up in front of the Rock Cafe. I forgot to take a picture of our set up. But I was happy with our business, although it was a slow day. It felt good to be out in front of the cafe trying to drag customers over. It reminded me of very early years when I was first getting started and I’d run outside to convince people to not just slow down for a picture but to give us a shot. Funny because at that time I couldn’t cook. But the customers always left satisfied and full of a big heaping bowl of Route 66 hospitality. And I didn’t even know what I’d done. I may spend more time up at the Rock on different occasions with my bowls of peach cobbler and bread pudding and shoot the breeze with the tourists.

While we were there, we had the Italian Superheros stop by and it was so much fun. The kids loved it. And I believe the superheros did as well. These guys seem to be doing some sort of spoofy film. I signed no releases so not sure what they are planning with the video and pics they took. But there was a lot  of interaction between the kids and the superheros. It was so much fun. BUT HOT. They ate some peach cobbler and seemed to really enjoy themselves.

I’m asked everyday at the Rock (when it was open) how I’m doing, my saying is its “ANOTHER DAY IN PARADISE”. This day which was hard and hot for very little money but very soul satisfying was certainly paradise and felt good. It made my heart happy and sad. I can’t wait to get back to the day to day at the Rock because you never really know what to expect from each day and isn’t that a wonderful way to wake up and end a day of reflection about the wonder of what comes down this road.

Long live the superpowers of this road and its people who travel and love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 Responses to “SuperHeros to the Rescue!!”

  1. redforkhippie Says:

    Too bad Paul outgrew his Incredibles suit. He’d have fit right in with that bunch.

    One of my favorite Rock Cafe memories is of Paul running around the dining room one afternoon in his “super suit,” complete with fake muscles, when he was about 4. It wasn’t Halloween. It wasn’t Mardi Gras. To an adult, there was absolutely no reason for Paul to be wearing a superhero costume … but to an imaginative little guy, this was a perfectly reasonable way to dress while tagging along after Mom at work.

  2. Blaque Allen Says:

    Hey lol I found your blog here while I was at school. And I’m suprised u included me in your blog lol. Well great job it is really informative and useful to everyone who has been watching you rebuild the Rock Cafe.

    lol cant wait until its finished. See ya soon :)

  3. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

