How the clean out works!!

This is us ready to dig in!! Not pictured is Hannah; our sudo daughter!!You can see the white 5 gallon pickle buckets!! They are coming in very handy for easy carry out of debris.

The above pictures are the crew hard at work!! We now only have about 700 of our 800 square feet to remove. The five of us worked for about 2 hours Sunday night. It was hard but noone complained! Thank goodness for great children and hubbys!

The chas, our nickname for the kids, sat down once we cleared booth 1 and tryed ordering some food!

This is me at the bar trying to figure out what happened to the rest of my Coke bottle..

..and the roof!

Fred and Paul surveying the other 700 square feet!

These are the treasures from the dig today. We have a Sparks America flyer, an old orginal coffee pot, our bell for when orders are ready, a small ring that was in lost and found, and the coke bottle opener which I believe can be used again!!

We are all very tired. May not be much going on tomorrow as I will be dealing with phone calls and paper work. I hope this helps many of you understand where I’m at currently. I am so happy that the Stroud and Route 66 community has been with me in heart through this tragedy. I can’t tell you how much it means to have your support. As soon as the building is in a safe place, we will have some sort of event to celebrate the new beginning! I will keep you informed…

9 Responses to “How the clean out works!!”

  1. brianbutko Says:

    What an overwhelming experience – emotional, physical, mental – plus of course the inevitable red tape and paperwork! So many of us are following your story and we send you our prayers and best wishes. Brian

  2. Mara Says:

    Have been thinking of you, your family and The Rock since Suzy first told me about the fire. Can not imagine what you all must be going through so I will just add my written support at this time.

    You all have many friends and fans, some you were not even aware of.

    Hang in there. We are behind you.

    Mara,
    (jr. high friend of Kim F. and very old friend of your most boisterous customer, LR McB and customer when passing thru Stroud…Oklahoma, its such a small town…)

  3. Lisa T (VA) Says:

    Thank you for the blog! Your family has been in our thoughts, since we first heard the news. We’re sending support in your rebuilding efforts and wish we could be there to help. What an uplifting sight seeing your family (including “sudo” members) armed with five gallon pickle buckets showing that this fire will not defeat you. It won’t be easy, but we are cheering you on!! Amazing people make the Route a special place, and your family is a great example of that.

    Please let us know if we can help in any way. Thanks again for the updates.
    Lisa T (from VA)

  4. ashley ann Says:

    I’m so proud of you guys… Please let me know when I can help. You know that I’m only a phone call and a few blocks away!

    ~Ashley Ann

  5. Rena Says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere! I’ve been following the news at Rt 66 News blog, and I started a Facebook group to show support. If you need tech help with the blog, let me know. If you set up a fund to help the rebuilding, I would certainly donate.

    Looking forward to eating at the Rock again soon!

  6. Rena Says:

    Oh, meant to suggest that you join the Blog Oklahoma Community of state bloggers: blogoklahoma.com

  7. Dcloud Says:

    Dawn and family, our thoughts and prayers are with you. Like so many other roadies, we were heart broken to hear the news of the Rock’s fire and destruction….only in material ways though. So glad we got to visit there in 2006 and meet you and sign the wall. The Rock’s spirit, as evidenced in your blog’s pictures, is there in full force in the faces of your family as they help with the clean up. As with Sally’s love affair with the road and it’s people, mentioned in the movie CARS, Dawn’s love affair with the road and it’s many travelers will be the strength for the Rock Cafe’s rise out of the ashes to draw travelers in the future to Route 66, Stroud and the Rock Cafe. Besides, now we roadies have a whole new bathroom wall to sign! Let us know if there is a fund for rebuilding.

  8. Barbara Randall Says:

    Dawn, Beverly,
    Our thoughts and prayers are with you. I know the two of you girls will get this up and running as good if not better then before. Remember if he brings you to it he will bring you through it. Hang in there. Hope to be eating in there next year on my trip home. Love you girls , Dawn give my little sister a big hug for me.
    Barbara

  9. D. Spencer Says:

    Dawn,

    I was heart sick when I heard the news. While I had not been in since it’s been under your care, I used to enjoy lunches there several times each week when I was attending Stroud High in the late seventies and early eighties. I have little contact with anyone in Stroud now, but the news made it to southern Maryland in hours. I’ll bring my kids back for a meal when you have it all going again. It’s worth saving!

Leave a Reply

