Hard Times call for Hard Hats!!!

These hard hats were sent to us through Emily Priddy from Mike, a friend of Route 66. After reading the blog, he saw we were in need of hard hats and promptly mailed us additional hats (6 in total). Alexis, Paul, and I decided we would decorate our hard hats! This is so great as we are having a cleaning crew come Sunday evening.  Several of our Stroud teenagers will be helping to clean out the Rock.  We have a total of 9 hard hats with the two Emily and Ron donated and the 1 my mom found at a garage sale. Today we removed several Rock and the hats were awesome.

 

We created an assembly line to remove the rocks. We made piles of big rock, small rock, and mortar. Ha we aren’t sure why we are keeping mortar but thought people may like to have a piece of it since we intend to mortar back our life here. 

Casey Longacre, my nephew, was my guest help today. Paul was showing him around the site and how things operate.

This is Lex taking a break and doin what teens do. The funny thing about today is that Alexis and I have been working so much up here that when we got ready to go to the site today we both had long socks on. Small pieces of debris was getting into our shoes and it was very painful. So we both just laughed today when we had not discussed with each other but we both had big ugly socks on. Mine were halloween themed and hers were all the way above her knees.

It seems I end all of these with a Thank You. But goodness it seems that mankind has certainly come to our rescue and I couldn’t be more thankful for it. I can’t wait to make the biggest thank you dinner ever and have everyone over for a big ole’ heaping bowl of yummy gratitude.

2 Responses to “Hard Times call for Hard Hats!!!”

  1. JJ Says:

    Hello!
    My name is Jeanette Vieira and I’m the author of Grits, Gravy and Graceland… our Southern Road Trip blog (listed on your blog roll… thank you!)

    I just wanted to say I was shocked and saddened to hear of this tragedy. We had such a wonderful time visiting your cafe on our road trip.

    Here are our photos while we were there..
    http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=rock%20cafe&w=21411380%40N07

    Best of luck in the rebuilding, our thoughts are with you and your family.

  2. Mike Ward Says:

    Dawn,

    I’m so glad that you’re able to use the hard hats I sent. When I heard that you and others were around such a hazardous area I knew I didn’t want to hear of another tragedy. The decorating of the hats are great! Our thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Mike and Sharon Ward

Leave a Reply

